1. Red Roof Ranch - Elwell
Red Roof Ranch was established in 2014. There are many dark secrets associated with the ranch, and a recent renovation inside the home uncovered an old charcoal portrait hidden within a door frame. The portrait is presumed to be of the original owner,
Alvy Decker. It was framed and hangs proudly in the family room. The Loomis Family has owned the property on and off over the last 60 years.
The home, barn, stonebarn, and outhouse were constructed in the mid-1940's and the metal Red Roof was installed within the last 10 years. The barn has been renovated inside to include 3 horse stalls, and the floor was removed in one section to allow for a
breathtaking seven-foot-wide chandelier which is hung from the top of the barn. The attached milk house is slated for renovation, along with the granary. To complete the barn a matching red roof will be installed in 2016. The property also has a stone hedge in the front - a testament to workmanship that stands the test of time.
Wendy Reeve purchased the property in 2014. In the spring of 2014 one of her horses got loose and she called on the son of her next door neighbor to help her retrieve the horse. The following spring of 2015 that son (Cliff Loomis) married Wendy Reeve at the Red Roof Ranch. The first of hopefully many more weddings to be held in the future at the ranch.
The Red Roof Patriot Quilt Block was designed and painted by Wendy and is a testament to the American heritage for the ranch and the surrounding areas and a reflection of the sentiments of the current property owners.
2. Lumberjack Park - Riverdale
In 1926, when George Beck of Ithaca learned that one of the last stands of white pine in Gratiot County was going to be cut down, he called on local lumberjacks and rivermen to buy the threatened forty-acre tract and preserve it as a memorial. The woodsmen organized the Lumberjack and Riverdrivers Association and in 1927 purchased the land
for $3,000.00. They elected Otis Terpening as their first president that year. By 1943 the mortgage had been fully paid through membership fees, donations and fundraising dinners. The Lumberjack and Riverdrivers Association minutes of October 18, 1934, explained, "we shanty boys are growing old and our ranks are getting thinner year by
year, but when our day is ended we know our children still can gather on this spot where the shanty boys have built their final camp." The bunkhouse and shanty were completed in 1930, the pavilion by 1931, and the caretaker's house in 1947. The park also features a band shell, a playground area, and a nature trail.
Over the years, park donations have helped keep the park going and new buildings have been erected. The park is used primarily in the summer months for reunions of all sorts and weddings. The Pine River runs through the back of the park and is worth a stop to walk back to the river and wonder about the past lumberjacks and rivermen who helped make this park possible.
The Tree of Life block was donated by the family of Leroy (Bum) and Beverly (Tootie) Loomis. The Loomis family grew up in the Riverdale/Seville Township area and spent many summers enjoying the park.
7. Bovee Family Farm - Ithaca
The Bovee farm was purchased by Roger and Sharon Bovee in 1963 primarily for crop and livestock production. It was on this farm that they built their home and raised three children. The quilt square design and colors were chosen simply for their liking. The block now stands to represent the family and farm life the Bovees take such pride in.
8. Harrell Family - Alma
The Eight Pointed Star and Pinwheel patterns are depicted on the Harrell family’s barn. The land, barn, and house were purchased by Richard and Rhonda Harrell in 1975. The house was abandoned for years and was refurbished by the Harrells. The inspiration for the quilt squares came from Rhonda Harrell, who is a long-arm machine quilter, and her love for quilting. There are two blocks so they can be seen from either direction. Richard Harrell chose the Eight Pointed Star pattern, and Rhonda chose the Pinwheel. Both are depicted in patriotic colors.
9. Gratiot County Fair for Youth - Alma
The Ribbon Winners Circle Block includes the colors of winners' ribbons and represents the excitement the fair has brought to the community since 1949.
10. Alma Family Pharmacy - Alma
The Neighbors Quilt Block represents our customers, who are neighbors we love to serve and visit with.
11. Treasures Resale Shop - Alma
The Heart of Michigan Block. Come inside and check out all the treasures in this beautiful resale/collectible gift shop.
12. DeFever - Alma
The quilt block pattern chosen for the DeFever Homestead Centennial Farm is the Mariner's Compass. The colors in the quilt block represent the heritage of each generation that has owned the farm since 1888 and incorporate the flags of Scotland, Ireland, England, Germany, Belgium, and the United States.
The Centennial Farm was originally owned by Edward Fleming and Frances (Lindsay) Fleming from 1888 - 1959. Robert Fleming and O'Rena (Mills) Fleming took ownership from 1959 - 1989. Urban Dickman and Marietta (Fleming Chamberlain) Dickman owned the farm from 1989 - 1992. Frank DeFever and Janet (Dickman) DeFever moved to the farm with their children in 1992 and are the present day owners.
During the past century, this Gratiot County farm has seen numerous changes. The original farmhouse (the southernmost part of the house), which was built in the 1890s, still remains. An addition to the farmhouse was completed in 2003. The only original farm structure on the property is the old barn, which dates back to the 1880s.